2016 Travelling with Children Round Up

hiker-1149898_1280

Somehow we’re already four months into 2016 and I thought it would be good to connect and let you know what might be coming up.

I’m excited that we’ve planned a trip that I think could be really different, fulfilling, fun and educational for tots and adults.  We plan to go to Italy, a country that I utterly love: I spent two months there backpacking solo without children back in 2008 and then returned for a month in 2009 to see more gems which I couldn’t fit in the first time around.  This time we’re flying Easyjet from Edinburgh to Milan (we were definitely swayed by the child friendly flight times*) and heading straight to Turin, just under a two hour drive away.  The plan is to have a three night city break in Turin.  We’ve booked what looks like a very family friendly apartment through Air BnB – I’ll let you know if we rate it or not – and we aim to find out what Turin offers little ones.  Like many parents I’m a bit daunted by a city break but Mr Husband talked me into it and I’m sure once I’m there eating gelato in a piazza I’ll be just fine.

piazza-vittorio-438449_1280

The next part of the trip I am so excited about.  We’re heading into the Piedmont hills to an Agritourismo site.  If you don’t know this brand then it sounds spot on for families.  Agritourismo accommodation is usually found in beautifully converted farmhouses in stunning scenery where there is food grown, harvested and sold onsite.  The house we’ve selected produces hazlenuts, cured meats and wine (the area is renowned for Barolo).  I am trying to contain myself.  My kids are young but I’m really looking forward to showing them where food comes from, all they usually see is the Asda delivery van, so I’m hoping this will be insightful for Mr Toddler.

canelli-1181006_1280

Our farmhouse is near the picturesque town of Alba and the famous town of Asti (bring on the bubbles).  Basically we’re in the slow food heartland of Italy and I even think our ‘box of frogs’ toddler will chill out and eat, eat, eat.

We’ve booked a two bedroom flat within the Agritourismo building so it has a kitchen but we can eat in the (very reasonsably priced) restaurant if we wish.  There’s a pool and a playground too so it’s a real mix of low-key, quality food, back to basic rural idyll with the benefits and facilities of a chilled hotel and self-catering options thrown in for good measure.

scotland-1271433_1280

On the homefront we have a family trip to Glasgow planned.  We’ve been welcomed to profile a new hotel so I’ll feed back on that and the Glasgow day trips we can fit in.  Any suggestions about what to do in Glasgow with children would be appreciated.  I absolutely love this city as I studied there so lots of dangerously wonderful memories but I don’t think I can take my toddler to ‘The Garage’.  I’m also returning to Glasgow for a girls only weekend (with the dangerously wonderful uni girls) and if I manage to remember anything worth passing on I’ll let you know.

I’ll be in London for Britmums Live 2016 which I desperately hope isn’t me feeling stupidly shy wearing a squint name badge, but I plan some sightseeing on the side so again any gems I’ll pass them on.

hiking-1149891_1280

On our doorstep we’ll be profiling a quality traditional hotel in Aberdeenshire.  We also hope to get up to the Banff and Buchan coast, a wonderful part of the world which I feel I’ve neglected a little.  Castle Douglas in the Borders is also on my tick list as a good friend has moved there – again would love some suggestions of what we could see and visit there.  Mr Husband says we have to go back to Ireland at some point this year so that’s me told.  And towards the end of the year I’ll be doing my worst on yet another girls’ weekend in Newcastle.  I don’t know this city at all so any girly shout outs would help.

So lots to look forward to and share with you, and I’m hoping to get some local day trips on the blog as well so we can hopefully make the most of the endless sunshine I am seriously hoping to experience this summer.
sandy-831605_1280

*Additional Info – The Edinburgh flight times we found, after looking at numerous destinations and departure options are departing on a Saturday at 1245, arriving Milan at 1620.  Then returning on a Saturday at 0930, arriving back in Scotland at 1100.

 

Don’t miss a post – if you like what you read please add to your email address into the ‘Follow’ box and click ‘Follow’ or visit us at http://www.facebook.com/tots2travel.wordpress.

Any queries or opportunities please email tots2travel@hotmail.com.  Happy travels.

